'95 420A Engine Shuts Off At Random

Posted by gotrocket07, Apr 12, 2011
420A Bolt-on Tech - Intake, exhaust, ignition, fuel system, cooling, etc - specific to 2G N/T DSMs. New Members must limit their 420A tech posts to this forum.

  1. gotrocket07

    gotrocket07 Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marietta, Ohio
    Recently bought a '95 Eclipse 5-speeed with 126,000 miles. It runs great, but every once in a while, the engine will stall out as if the key had been turned off. It has happened only when I am decelerating when coming to an intersection. The lights/radio/headlights all remain on. As of now, it has started up every time after it shuts off, but I am stumped as to what may be causing this. I've searched and found that the 95's had troublesome ECUs, but am wanting to get other opinions (If there are any others) on what may be causing this. Any help is appreciated.
    #1
  2. 1996dsm

    1996dsm Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fort Worth, Texas
    i had the same issue back when i had my rs, it was the cam sensor and wiring. bought a new one at Autozone with the plug, it fixed the issue and never happened again.
    #2
  3. rbwtrans

    rbwtrans Proven Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    Likes Received:
    1
    pensacola, Florida
    Check the pin sockets for the relays above your brake booster. The ASD (Auomatic ShutDown) relay is one of those. Use a pocket screwdiver to close up the coctacts and pack them with DiElectric grease. Swap the relays around and see if this olvesyoue proble =m.
    #3
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    3
    Chatsworth, Georgia
    Subbed, this happens to my 96 car at least twice to four times a day (i drive 80 miles a day) i will be driving on like the interstate and it would just surge for like 1 second and then drive as if nothing happened. also my lights/radio stay on and are not affected. I also checked my ground and wiring around my battery but that all looks good.
    #4
  5. gotrocket07

    gotrocket07 Probationary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marietta, Ohio
    I also discovered a very noticable hesitation/miss when accellerating at WOT, and the tach will jump erratically when it does this (Jumping +/- 500rpm). Did you have this problem also? I've pulled the fuel filter and replaced it, with no improvement on the hesitation/miss.
    #5
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    3
    Chatsworth, Georgia
    On the 420A were is the fuel filter? i have an new one that i need to install and haynes manual doesnt say were its located
    #6
  7. Shake_Zulla

    Shake_Zulla Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    503
    Likes Received:
    12
    Boise, Idaho
    The 95's are on the firewall right underneath the throttle body and the 96+ are under the car near the fuel tank on the passenger side. Didn't want him to tell you where his was and have you lookin on your firewall for hours on end :p
    #7
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    3
    Chatsworth, Georgia
    thank you so much! shake!
    #8
  9. SuperFudge

    SuperFudge Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parma, Ohio
    +1
    Same thing happened to me. At times when i would come to a stop sign or a light the car would stall out. It's not a regular occurrence either, i does it whenever it wants. The car fires right up also after it stalls also!
    I have no clue were to look anymore.
    Also on a related note the car shutters on the highway also for a split second and goes back to normal as if nothing never happened. I was thinking that it was the torque converter lockup, locking and unlocking, so i took a look at my fluid and all was good.
    Any help would be appreciated it seems like these are common problems on the 420a's
    Last edited: May 11, 2011
    #9
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Proven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    465
    Likes Received:
    3
    Chatsworth, Georgia
    There is a thread around here of someone changing the crank sensor and it solved it.
    #10
  11. sek_phok

    sek_phok Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Posts:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    El paso, Texas
    I changed my crank sensor to solve this problem.
    #11
  12. thecrowng

    thecrowng Proven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    san juan, Puerto_Rico
    +1 on the crank sensor. Does the CEL turn on for a second when the car shuts off, get it scanned first and check if you have an oil leak, maybe the sensor is dirty because of this.
    #12
  13. SuperFudge

    SuperFudge Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parma, Ohio
    Nope no cel, unfortunetly since it's a 95 the car is obd1 so I ended up doing the key dance method, but resulted with no codes. So I picked up a new crank sensor and will change it out when I change the oil.
    #13
  14. Myndvast

    Myndvast Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kernersville, North_Carolina
    Hey my car is having the same issue. Can somone tell me about this crank sensor? How hard is it to change out?:hmm:
    #14
  15. VelocitàPaola

    VelocitàPaola DSM N/T Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    69
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    A little late to respond, I know, but your care still has an OBDII plug and just about any ISO/OBDII code scanner will work with it.
    #15
  16. VelocitàPaola

    VelocitàPaola DSM N/T Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    69
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    It's not difficult to replace. It's right above the oil filter on the back of the block. It's held in with a single bolt; simply unplug the electrical connector, remove the bolt, and pull the sensor out.

    I should mention that it's likely your ECU is faulty. Most of the symptoms in this thread sound like a bad ECU to me -- the '95 ECU was particularly prone to problems. My car did the exact same thing, randomly shutting the engine off. Only replacing the ECU solved the problem.
    #16
  17. NeMiZiS

    NeMiZiS Supporting Member

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    11
    Anchorage, Alaska
    My old 95 GS did this same thing, die randomly and sometimes a WOT jump RPM's erratically.
    Was told it was the ECU I changed it and same thing.
    Because I was a lot younger, I ended up having to take it to a shop.
    They replaced the cam sensor and it solved the problem.
    But only temporarily, it started doing it again and I took it to a different shop.
    They said my timing belt was "slipping", they changed it and it never died again.
    I sold that car to my homey and he totaled it in less than 2 weeks.:banghead:
    But I would definitely check the ECU, ASD relay and Cam sensor first.
    You should read through this thread here, some more info on this subject.
    http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/420a-bolt-tech/297022-car-dies-random.html
    #17
  18. Th3DooM

    Th3DooM Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Posts:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dresden, Europe
    My car has a similar problem. Sometimes when I hit the clutch and steer the car stalls and wants to shut off. Not that great when suddenly powersteering doesn't work, haha. It shuts off infrequently. Should I try to change my cam sensor or crank sensor, too? Btw I own a 98 GS.
    #18
  19. Myndvast

    Myndvast Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kernersville, North_Carolina
    Thanks. That helps to point out a possible solution. Any idea where I could get a good ECM that might not have these issues? My car is a daily driver, so I guess a performance ECM is not a good option. Or could it be?:hmm: Anybody ever added one to their ride and if so, does it effect gas mileage?
    #19
  20. Myndvast

    Myndvast Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kernersville, North_Carolina
    Ok. Well with that being said, I looked around and found out that some of us use remanufactured ECM's. Does that mean that they have been reflashed to eliminate the issues that 95 ECM's were experiencing; or does it mean something different?:hmm:

    Has anybody got a picture of the location? I'm having trouble locating the fuel filter.
    #20
  21. VelocitàPaola

    VelocitàPaola DSM N/T Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    69
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    Mitsubishi, eBay, your local junkyard, the DSMtuners or 2GNT classifieds sections, almost any other running '95...

    The only "performance" PCM on the market is from Howell Automotive. If they ever ship one to you, you would still need a working core. I recommend sticking with the stock version.

    It's not a firmware problem, certain PCM's had faulty circuit boards. After years of use, the layers would delaminate in specific areas. You just need to find another one from a known-working car.
    #21
  22. Myndvast

    Myndvast Proven Member

    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kernersville, North_Carolina
    Does Mitsubishi even carry ECMs for 95 Talon ESi's?

    Ok I understand, but my car is working and it wants to cut when I drive it sometimes and then run directly after. So from what I am reading (and thank you for all the information by the way) it will be kind of a trial and error on getting one that might not have these issues. The af/x requires a core ... and that means ...? Sorry man, I am just trying to learn and understand before I buy. I appreciate all your help. I do know of a salvage yard about 50 minutes away that has ECMs for my car. I'll check and make sure. I just didn't want to buy one with the same issues. :ohdamn:
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
    #22
  23. VelocitàPaola

    VelocitàPaola DSM N/T Moderator

    Classifieds Rating:
    100%
    DSM Profiles:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    4,801
    Likes Received:
    69
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    They ought to. The dealership near me used to sell remanufactured PCM's for about $250.

    Yeah... we've been through this...

    Stop overthinking it, just buy another one that works. My car did the same thing, so I replaced the PCM with another from a member on 2GNT: problem solved.

    It means you send them a working PCM in exchange for the AF/X unit, or pay a lot more for it.
    #23

Share This Page