The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support RTM Racing
Please Support Rix Racing

1.8L Timing mark location

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluesman21

Probationary Member
Jul 3, 2011
Port Arthur, Texas
Hello,
Where exactly is the timing mark on the crankshaft that's to be aligned with the diamond shaped mark on the inner cover as I am installing a new timing belt? Black and white diagrams I have found online and in the Chilton book are not detailed enough for me to see exactly where it is or how it may look. Also, when installing a new timing belt (old one broke), how do I know when I am TDC of the compression stroke of the #1 piston? I am not a mechanic. 6 years ago my stepdad replaced a broken timing belt in this same motor with just specs from the internet in an hour and the car started and run ever since. He's not around anymore and I am trying to do this myself. Thanks for any advice and help. bluesman21

Last edited by a moderator:
To find TDC of #1 just remove the spark plug from #1 (that's the cylinder closest to the timing belt) stick a long screwdriver down into the spark plug hole and rotate the engine until the screwdriver is at the highest point. Then look at the marks on the crank sprocket and see how close they are. Make sure the cams are lined up for TDC also so the valves are all closed, you don't want to rotate the crank when any valve is open.