The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support Rix Racing

car wants to die while driving with headlights

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clipto

10+ Year Contributor
Oct 8, 2011
Portland, Oregon
My friends 1g has an issue when he drives at night and the headlights are on when he goes to apply the brakes the car wants to die. But only when the headlights are on. Any ideas I tried reading some threads but nothing was really a understandable answer for this. Any idea or points to where and what might causing this? Tested the battery and it came back strong. Should still check the alternator? Or if anything I read is a bad ground but I am no electrician as I have no idea anything about the wiring for this car or any car beyond basic install of a stereo LOL. I do see on the log that the battery volt does drop when applying the brakes down to 12v when fully braking to a stop from a steady 14v at cruising/idle. Or maybe its the dinky small ground wire that goes from the negative on the battery to the back firewall.

Bad or too small of a ground is what immediately came to mind when I saw this. It should have a ground from negative post to firewall, negative post to bell housing, and intake manifold to firewall. Check to verify if these are still there, and if so, if they're in good condition, I.e. not burnt