Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource on the web



















Login



Go Back   DSMtuners > DSM Forums > General > Newbie Forum
Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource
You are browsing the site as a GUEST. Please login (or register) and gain the ability to post on our site and interact with other DSMers. You also get to browse the site with fewer advertisements. It is FREE to join!

Newbie Forum: Beginner/newbie/general DSM modification questions. First mods, how to run 10's when you haven't run 12's yet, any tech question that doesn't fit in another tech forum. Probationary Members must limit their tech posts to this forum and sub-forums.

Reply
 
 
LinkBack   Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2013, 11:29 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #1 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown

Car wants to die? Idling problems


I got a 1991 Eagle talon turbo, fully built. Just got the car and i just had a guy send me a tune for it (e85). The tune is set up to run at 1000 rpm. But sometimes it will run at 1500 and stay there. And i got it up to operating temperature and it threw it in park and almost sounds like it had a vacuum leak where it would rev up and down constantly. But then i took it for a drive and parked it again and it was back to normal? Also, while the car is in park (idleing) and i try and give it a quick rev it cuts out and wants to die, (sound like its running lean off idle?) But it runs and drives great while im driving. Im new to dsm's so i really dont know where to start. Any help would be great. Thanks
Jordan


mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:10 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #2 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

whooooop's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 37
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: whooooop is an unknown
you could have a vacuum leak somewhere. check all hoses and connectors make sure everything is where it is supposed to be.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 01:09 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #3 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown
Thanks, ill get to it! Is there some sort of vacuum hose diagram or something that would help?

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 01:12 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #4 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

FeaR-GSX's Avatar
Registered: Aug 2011
Tech Posts: 39
Classified Ads: 1
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: FeaR-GSX is an unknown
spray starting fluid around all the vacuum lines, intake manifold, and throttle body. if it revs up you have a vacuum leak

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 10:18 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #5 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Tooltrt87's Avatar
Registered: Feb 2010
Tech Posts: 70
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: Tooltrt87 is an unknown
I agree check for vacuum leaks with carb cleaner or starter fluid. Also boost leak check!
Another possible issue is your base ignition timing. Get a timing light, ground out the diagnostic pin. Hook the timing light up to plug wire #1 and make sure your crank pulley is syncronized with 5deg timing mark on front cover. If not loosen CAS and turn it slowly till it lines up correctly.
Hope this helps.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 10:33 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #6 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Kruger's Avatar
Registered: May 2010
Tech Posts: 46
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: Kruger is an unknown
Also, make sure that your idle position switch is making proper contact with the throttle plate when it closes.

Do you have a logger? A buddy of mine posted how to set it using the logger (it will also tell you if its functioning correctly because you will get a signal from it.
follow the details given in the 2nd post.


____________________________
Just Giv'er

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:36 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #7 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown
Thanks for all the replies and suggestions, gonna be out back working on the car today anyway so ill try and look for a vacuum leak and ignition timing if i can figure that out haha. And kruger, you mean like a data logger? Yes, i have DSMLINK 2.5. Thanks

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:43 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #8 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Kruger's Avatar
Registered: May 2010
Tech Posts: 46
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: Kruger is an unknown
My post was supposed to have this link attached.

This will show you how to set it up

Idle Position Switch/Idle Stop Switch Adjustment


____________________________
Just Giv'er

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:37 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #9 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown
Ok well Im going to kind of restart this question and maybe ask it in a little different way.. Like said above the car is fully built. ( if you need to know whats "Built" about it please ask)

Car runs on e85

So the car Starts fine runs ok at idle.
Drives down the road great ( only driven it a couple times due to no insurance yet, and i live in the country so i drove it on a raod noone drives on) But from what i can tell it drives with no problems

Iding scares me for some reason, it idles about 1000 rpm, then if i give it quick throttle it almost kills itself then goes back to 1000 rpm. ( sometimes if i slowly give it throttle and rev up, it will come down to 1500 rpm and stay there a while?

A/F ratio ( on dsmlink 2.5 ) is estimated at 16/17 at idle. But my Innovate LC-1 Wideband o2 sensor read 21 at the gauge unless i rev it, it goes down. ( whats wrong with my gauge?

There are no vacuum leaks ( tested with carb cleaner)

I read somwhere that on my log ( at idle ) Throttle Position should read at 10%? Is that correct? I made a datalog and it was at 0, even when i held the throttle at about 1500-2000 rpm the throttle position did not go up on the log.

What are all the things that could be wrong? And where should i start. Please explain how to do a test on the things i need. I am completly new to dsm's, but i need to learn somehow!!
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Any questions please ask.

Also, if a log of it running would help, please let me know and i can add one ( if so tell me what you want the log to be made of idling, rev, both, etc.. )

Last edited by Bubbas Garage; 03-05-2013 at 08:42 PM. Reason: Auto-merged with previous post to prevent "bumping" within a 24 hour period Tips on avoiding the auto-merge feature - http://www.dsmtuners.com/forums/faq.php?faq=vb_faq#faq_bumping

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:19 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #10 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Tooltrt87's Avatar
Registered: Feb 2010
Tech Posts: 70
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: Tooltrt87 is an unknown
Post a log of idle, quick throttle blip with it chocking out as you describe. Then with the slow on the throttle with high idle at 1500. Also put a full mod list in your profile.

Last edited by Tooltrt87; 03-06-2013 at 12:22 AM. Reason: Stuff

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 08:37 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #11 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown
here is the log you asked for. let the car warm up for 5-10 min, so its not at operating temperature but its definatly not cold... i let it idle, did a quick throttle, idle quick throttle, idle slow throttle let it idle, was idling high, then it actually idled back to 1000 after a little bit.
Attached Files
File Type: elg idlerev3.elg (6.1 KB, 8 views)

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:58 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #12 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

drewbuddy's Avatar
Registered: Jun 2011
Tech Posts: 65
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: drewbuddy is an unknown
mine is doing the same with the idle, ecm resets every time i turn off car, have another just need to swap it

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:52 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #13 (permalink)
Probationary Member
 

Bubbas Garage's Avatar
Registered: Mar 2012
Tech Posts: 25
Reputation: Bubbas Garage is an unknown
Anyone else? Hows that log look? Would still like to get it figured out

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:42 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #14 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Kruger's Avatar
Registered: May 2010
Tech Posts: 46
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: Kruger is an unknown
Well check that your TPS is set correctly.

Im curious if your Idle speed controller is acting up. Sometimes the plunger inside breaks of or develops a leak. It will then leak air past the throttle body and make setting the idle damn near impossible. Your car will idle higher than its supposed to. Its atleast worth having a look at.


____________________________
Just Giv'er

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

 

» Recent DSM Photo
» Current Poll
How many times have you been to the Shootout?
1 - 39.86%
167 Votes
2-5 - 41.77%
175 Votes
6-10 - 10.50%
44 Votes
11-15 - 3.10%
13 Votes
16-20 - 4.77%
20 Votes
Total Votes: 419
You may not vote on this poll.
» Online Users: 431
109 members and 322 guests
Most users ever online was 1,704, 03-17-2008 at 09:11 PM.
DSMtuners Main Sections
DSM Forums
DSM Regional Forums
DSM Builds/Journals
DSM Articles
DSM Tech Guides
DSM Upgrade Paths
DSM Parts Reviews
DSM Vendor Reviews

DSM Classifieds
DSM Parts Guides
DSM Photos
DSM Videos
DSM Timeslips
DSM Dyno Sheets
Shirts & Apparel
DSMtuners Decals

Advertising Info
Our Sponsors
Site Rules
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Site FAQ
About Us
Contact Us

© 2014 DSMtuners.com - All Rights Reserved

DSMtuners is not affiliated with Diamond Star Motors. The Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, Mitsubishi Galant VR-4, and associated logos are trademarks of Diamond Star Motors, Mitsubishi Motors, and Chrysler Corporation. No, we do not hand out car sponsorships.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0