Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource on the web



















Login



Go Back   DSMtuners > DSM Forums > General > Newbie Forum
Welcome to DSMtuners - the largest Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, 4G63t and 420A DSM performance resource
You are browsing the site as a GUEST. Please login (or register) and gain the ability to post on our site and interact with other DSMers. You also get to browse the site with fewer advertisements. It is FREE to join!

Newbie Forum: Beginner/newbie/general DSM modification questions. First mods, how to run 10's when you haven't run 12's yet, any tech question that doesn't fit in another tech forum. Probationary Members must limit their tech posts to this forum and sub-forums.

Reply
 
 
LinkBack   Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2010, 06:03 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #1 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

miller97tsi's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2008
Tech Posts: 195
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: miller97tsi is an unknown

rebuilt engine started but with no oil pressure


like the title says i successfully started the engine but shut it down as soon as no oil pressure was at the gauge. i have cranked with the engine fuse pulled it wont build pressure. what can i do about getting this oil pressure problem resolved? is there a quick and easy way to prime the system without disassembly. i have read the forums and other posts i just need something that works and works well. thanks


mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:30 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #2 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

DSM_JAY's Avatar
Registered: Apr 2009
Tech Posts: 59
Photos: 2
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: DSM_JAY is an unknown
the gauge telling you that there is no oil pressure just might mean its not working. i have seen many oil pressure gauges that werent hooked up correctly or at all. try removing the fuel pump relay and disconnecting the coil pack and cranking it while looking through the oil fill hole on the valve cover you just might see oil flowing. And just for the hell of it check the wires on the oil pressure sending unit
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:41 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #3 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

falcon8r's Avatar
Registered: Sep 2009
Tech Posts: 201
Photos: 13
Classifieds Rating: 2
Reputation: falcon8r is an unknown
If you have compressed air available, you can apply some pressure to the top end of the engine . Plug the pcv or breather . With the oil filter off, sooner or later oil will flow out. Use some common sense on how much air to apply. Gaskets do not like high pressures. You are just trying to overcome some psysics .So just then, crank it over again just like you have been doing. You are not doing anything wrong in your approach. Like above stated, could be the gauge. I have fired lots of fresh engines and the sound of dead lifters and a bunch of rattle can stretch seconds into hours. Tres...
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:54 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #4 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

rx7ttlm's Avatar
Registered: May 2008
Tech Posts: 180
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: rx7ttlm is more helpful than not
Quote:
Originally Posted by miller97tsi View Post
like the title says i successfully started the engine but shut it down as soon as no oil pressure was at the gauge. i have cranked with the engine fuse pulled it wont build pressure. what can i do about getting this oil pressure problem resolved? is there a quick and easy way to prime the system without disassembly. i have read the forums and other posts i just need something that works and works well. thanks
it sounds like you either have a sensor problem or a priming problem. My favorite priming method is pressure (note its freegin hand pump pressure not air compressor 120psi pressure) feeding the oil system before starting it. The oil pressure sensor has 1/8th ntp thread. remove the sensor and use a 1/8th ntp nipple fitting and hand pump oil from a gear oil quart bottle, from the bottle. NOT gear oil!. into the engine with a length of hose till your buddy gets bored or oil comes out from under the rockers (visible through the valve cover oil cap hole). After this is done, fire up the engine but dont rev. if the light doesnt go off within a second or 2. shut down. you likely have a wiring/ sensor issue. sometimes if you use excessive pipe thread sealant the sensor doesn't properly contact the housing and can't carry current (rare but happens). or your wiring / or sensor is bad. Shoot wires with continuity tester.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:58 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #5 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Guzman08's Avatar
Registered: Jun 2009
Tech Posts: 801
Classifieds Rating: 3
Reputation: Guzman08 is more helpful than not
stupid question but did u connect the connection back??


____________________________
Vick

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 07:20 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #6 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

miller97tsi's Avatar
Registered: Jan 2008
Tech Posts: 195
Classifieds Rating: 1
Reputation: miller97tsi is an unknown
rx7ttlm can you explain your methond a bit more in depth and yes i did connect the sensor back up it was working properly before i tored the engine down.just the two on the bottom right near the oil filter housing.

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 06:46 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #7 (permalink)
Supporting Member
 

XiKeiyaZI's Avatar
Registered: Dec 2008
Tech Posts: 2,433
Photos: 12
Classified Ads: 2
Classifieds Rating: 22
Reputation: XiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthyXiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthyXiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via AIM to XiKeiyaZI
Easiest way -

Remove the Nipple from the back of the Intake Manifold that has a hose running to the intake manifold.

Unscrew the bell shaped Oil Pressure Sensor behind the Oil filter.

Screw that nipple from the Intake Manifold in where the Sensor went.

Grab a Gallon Jug of Oil and a hand pump (found at any parts store)

Connect a rubber hose to the nipple and Pump. You'll pump in quite a bit, but eventually it will start flowing out of the ports in the head. You can then remove the pump hose, remove the nipple, screw back in the oil Pressure Sensor, clean up the nipple and put it back o the intake manifold, secure all connections, and start her up. No wear and tear, and no expensive equipment needed.

;D Have fun!
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:08 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #8 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

FLASH1970's Avatar
Registered: Aug 2005
Tech Posts: 870
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: FLASH1970 is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Did you do a balance shaft elimination? If so, did you remember to press in the bearings so the oil holes DON'T line up on the front shaft?


____________________________
92 TSI,95 GSX,97 TSI,99 GSX,02 WS6,09 SSlowbalt

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 08:27 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #9 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

Colt4G63 also's Avatar
Car: AWD 90 Dodge Colt 4G63T
Registered: Jul 2008
Tech Posts: 2,589
Photos: 6
Classifieds Rating: 4
Reputation: Colt4G63 also is extremely helpful and trustworthyColt4G63 also is extremely helpful and trustworthyColt4G63 also is extremely helpful and trustworthy
I would try that hand pump idea, and be sure you rotated the BS bearing, and that you put the oil pckup back on. Also, I've never had any luck cranking the engine to build oil pressure; it just doesn't spin fast enough to prime the pump. Besides, what lubricates all the moving parts while you crank it for hours right?
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:28 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #10 (permalink)
Supporting Member
 

XiKeiyaZI's Avatar
Registered: Dec 2008
Tech Posts: 2,433
Photos: 12
Classified Ads: 2
Classifieds Rating: 22
Reputation: XiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthyXiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthyXiKeiyaZI is extremely helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via AIM to XiKeiyaZI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colt4G63 also View Post
I would try that hand pump idea, and be sure you rotated the BS bearing, and that you put the oil pckup back on. Also, I've never had any luck cranking the engine to build oil pressure; it just doesn't spin fast enough to prime the pump. Besides, what lubricates all the moving parts while you crank it for hours right?
I've tested the whole 'crank to prime' BS. That is in no way the proper way to prime the engine. You are absolutely correct.

But yes, if you have all of the belts on and whatnot, the easier way to prime is the way that I mentioned above. The other way is to spin the pump with a drill while all the belts are off.

But yeah, hopefully you set the BS bearing. =/
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:35 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #11 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

TuRBoTaLooN's Avatar
Car: 2003 Lancer Evolution 8
Registered: Apr 2005
Tech Posts: 585
Classifieds Rating: 2
Reputation: TuRBoTaLooN is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via AIM to TuRBoTaLooN
Silly thought, but embarassingly enough, it happened to me...do you have oil squirters? I had this issue with my 6 bolt swap only to find out I forgot to install oil squirters and didn't block the ports! Oil would never make it up the block, hahaha.

But if you can get oil up to the head with the hand pump method, I would start looking towards a bad sensor or connection to the sensor.
Visit TuRBoTaLooN's homepage! 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 12:03 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #12 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

onelowgst98's Avatar
Registered: Nov 2007
Tech Posts: 107
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: onelowgst98 is an unknown
ok im having the same problem my oil pressure guage isnt moving so im thinking about doing this is do i have to drain all of the oil out of the engine then pump in 5 quarts?

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 03:07 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #13 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

onelowgst98's Avatar
Registered: Nov 2007
Tech Posts: 107
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: onelowgst98 is an unknown

No oil pressure cant figure it out


sorry guys i know i posted yesterday but i really wanna try and figure this out. me and my dad installed the engine everything went good it started right up and i noticed the oil guage wasnt working so i turned the car off and i just figured it was the oil sensor switch so i replaced that today and no oil pressure. i decided to pump the oil from the pressure guage hole and nothing again. i started the motor and popped the oil cap i can see oil slinging everywhere. i havent replaced the pressure gauge sender yet could that be it? it seems like when i started the car as soon as this belt started screaming the oil light pops on the belt is by the crankshaft pulley would that have anything to do with it? the motor isnt ticking or anything its got plenty of oil in it

is there anyway that since the guage isnt working ints making the oil light pop on?

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 04:04 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #14 (permalink)
Moderator
 

snowborder714's Avatar
Registered: Oct 2006
Tech Posts: 11,579
Photos: 20
Classified Ads: 1
Classifieds Rating: 135
Reputation: You can trust this leader of the site
Send a message via AIM to snowborder714
Did you prime the engine before starting?

There's two accessory belts - one for the power steering pump and the other for the alternator. Try and figure out which one and tension it some more. My guess is the alternator belt.

Does the wire look ok? Have you tried testing the resistance on it to make sure there's nothing wrong with it between the sensor end and the ECU end?


____________________________
Brian

Throttle body rebuild kits
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 05:21 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #15 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

onelowgst98's Avatar
Registered: Nov 2007
Tech Posts: 107
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: onelowgst98 is an unknown
i pulled the engine fuse and crank on it a couple times then i started it. if the oil pressure gauge sensor is broke would it make the oil light pop on? im thinking about replacing that to

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 06:03 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #16 (permalink)
Moderator
 

snowborder714's Avatar
Registered: Oct 2006
Tech Posts: 11,579
Photos: 20
Classified Ads: 1
Classifieds Rating: 135
Reputation: You can trust this leader of the site
Send a message via AIM to snowborder714
Yes, if the sensor isn't working, it would throw the light as it wouldn't be seeing pressure.


____________________________
Brian

Throttle body rebuild kits
View photos of this member's car 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 06:23 PM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #17 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

onelowgst98's Avatar
Registered: Nov 2007
Tech Posts: 107
Classifieds Rating: 0
Reputation: onelowgst98 is an unknown
thanks man im gonna try that out if i go buy a autometer oil pressure guage does it come with the sensor?

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 05:20 AM Show Printable Version Show Printable Version   Email this Post to a Friend Email this Post      #18 (permalink)
Proven Member
 

TuRBoTaLooN's Avatar
Car: 2003 Lancer Evolution 8
Registered: Apr 2005
Tech Posts: 585
Classifieds Rating: 2
Reputation: TuRBoTaLooN is pretty helpful and trustworthy
Send a message via AIM to TuRBoTaLooN
The gauge should come with a sending unit. You can put it in the same place as the OEM one.

If you are seeing oil flying around the cams with the oil cap off, then you have oil pressure. Keep in mind it should be pretty low at idle. But just to be safe, I would get an aftermarket gauge to verify the pressure.
Visit TuRBoTaLooN's homepage! 

mark post as helpful recommend reputation points    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

 

» Recent DSM Photo
» Current Poll
How many times have you been to the Shootout?
1 - 39.86%
167 Votes
2-5 - 41.77%
175 Votes
6-10 - 10.50%
44 Votes
11-15 - 3.10%
13 Votes
16-20 - 4.77%
20 Votes
Total Votes: 419
You may not vote on this poll.
» Online Users: 513
129 members and 384 guests
Most users ever online was 1,704, 03-17-2008 at 09:11 PM.
DSMtuners Main Sections
DSM Forums
DSM Regional Forums
DSM Builds/Journals
DSM Articles
DSM Tech Guides
DSM Upgrade Paths
DSM Parts Reviews
DSM Vendor Reviews

DSM Classifieds
DSM Parts Guides
DSM Photos
DSM Videos
DSM Timeslips
DSM Dyno Sheets
Shirts & Apparel
DSMtuners Decals

Advertising Info
Our Sponsors
Site Rules
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
Site FAQ
About Us
Contact Us

© 2014 DSMtuners.com - All Rights Reserved

DSMtuners is not affiliated with Diamond Star Motors. The Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, Mitsubishi Galant VR-4, and associated logos are trademarks of Diamond Star Motors, Mitsubishi Motors, and Chrysler Corporation. No, we do not hand out car sponsorships.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0