The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support ExtremePSI

Painting a car with a paint brush.

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

One Equals Two

10+ Year Contributor
Aug 12, 2009
SLC, Utah
Well, my Talon is completely dead now and needs to have the drivetrain pulled....etc. The car is pretty messed up (has a clean carfax though!) but really isn't worth a heck of a lot.

So, I had a good bet with my friend that I could paint my Geo with spray paint and make it look nice. He lost, and I had bragging rights to the best looking spray painted car in town. I am a fairly experienced painter so, I have that as an advantage.

Anyway, I am repainting my Talon and was going to just do it in the paint booth with the gun, etc. But, that's entirely too easy and really boring. Not to mention my booth is actually taken by another car right now. So, I decided to paint my car using a brush this time. I want some more bragging rights.

I'm curious to know if anyone has been dumb enough to try this, and what your results have been.

I already began painting, so no need to dissuade me.

There were tonnage of stories of car owners in general taking Rustsoleum enamel paints and rolling their cars with it with a 4.1 ratio of mineral spirits an the paint - getting the paint down to water consistency where it actually flows over the surface then you use high density foam rollers and roll the paint out.

Thing about using Rustoleum is that the stuff fades quick in the hot sun.

You definitely need a good arm and lots of money to rattle-can a car to look good - so, no "orange peel" "fish eyes" and no "roping" allowed with that technique.